Review: Glory Trail

Glory Trail
Glory Trail by David R Lewis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The eighth installment of David R. Lewis’s Trail series gets Rubin, Marion, and Homer saddling up to protect a wagon train of black folk as they wade through racism to get to Glory, Kansas, an all-black community.

I have to admit I wasn’t as engrossed in this one as the previous seven books. I just felt like the anti-racism message was hammered a few too many times, and then SPOILER … the marshals turn the wagon train over to other protectors before getting it to its destination. That bothered me. END SPOILER

What I did like in this one was the further development of Rubin and his family and Marion Daniels. I wouldn’t mind a whole book just about Rubin’s family life in Deer Run.

So, while I didn’t love Glory Trail as much as I did the previous seven, it’s still a heck of a fun ride and part of one of my new favorite series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: